Based on the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control's map, arrival will not be required to do so only upon return from Greece, Finland and part of Norway. If a person arrives from Oslo, Viken or Rogaland, they will be required to have a test and self-isolate.

On Friday, Lithuania's Health Ministry significantly updated its list of coronavirus-affected countries, taking into consideration the ECDC's latest risk assessment.

The ECDC states that several coronavirus mutations have been identified across the world, posing threat due to their faster spreading and a subsequent worsening epidemiological situation. Based on initial data, the possibility that such mutation could enter and spread within the EU is considered high or very high.

All in all, some 200 countries are on Lithuania's list of affected countries. It includes practically all European countries as well as Lithuania's neighboring countries of Latvia, Poland, Belarus and Russia.

Ireland, Denmark, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Brazil, Israel and the Republic of South Africa stand out as countries where new mutations of the SARS-CoV-2 virus are spreading.

According to the Health Ministry, all arrivals from these countries will need to have a negative COVID-19 test done within 48 hours before the arrival in Lithuania or within 24 hours after the arrival and also self-isolate for 14 days. The isolation period can be shortened if a test is done on the 10th day of self-isolation at one's own expense.

"Stricter isolation conditions apply to arrivals from mutation-affected countries as they cannot go for a walk and are allowed to leave the place of isolation if they need urgent medical assistance and have to go to a medical facility, or they have to go to a mobile point," the Health Ministry said.

Arrivals from the countries with fast-spreading virus mutations will have to self-isolate in a separate apartment or a house, or on another well-isolated floor of a private house or apartment or in a separate isolated room with a separate bathroom. Self-isolation will be possible in the same premises only with those that travelled together, except children, who will be allowed to stay with other family members, who will be subject to the same period of self-isolation.

Travellers from other affected countries may take a walk within the radius of 1 km. and leave the place of self-isolation without the notification of the NPHC or without its permission according to the list of exemptions. They can also self-isolate in the same apartment with non-traveling family members, only in another room, while reducing movement around the home and sharing of the common space.

The ministry notes that certain isolation exceptions apply to certain professions and people arriving for medical reasons or serious family matters, including funerals and visiting patients with terminal states. They are only required to have a coronavirus test done.

Neither isolation nor testing are required for those transiting through Lithuania.

The test and isolation requirement also does not apply to people who already had the virus or have been vaccinated following the full vaccination schedule will not be required to test or self-isolate provided they have a medical certificate or vaccination certificate (with translation into Lithuanian, English or Russian) confirming that they had the virus within 90 days prior to the entry or their vaccination.