"This is the maximum period under the Schengen Borders Code," Interior Minister Rita Tamasuniene told the Cabinet.

Her ministry proposed to extend border controls in light of the current coronavirus situation and trends.

This means that travelers arriving by air and sea will continue to be subjected to passport checks.

The three Baltic countries reopened their internal borders to each other's citizens and legal residents in mid-March.

Lithuania removed ID checks at its border with Latvia in early June and opened its land border with Poland in mid-June.

Amid the worsening coronavirus situation, however, Lithuania has deployed more border guards and police officers at its borders with Poland and Latvia and stepped up checks on arrivals.

Currently, people arriving from Poland are required to self-isolate for two weeks.