The ministry also recommends refraining from unnecessary travel to Belgium and Ireland where the proportion of COVID-19 cases per populations of 100,000 has exceeded 15 over the past 14 days.

The list of countries foreigners can come to Lithuania from has also been updated on Monday. Lithuanian citizens are allowed to come home in all cases but the list of countries also states whether they need to self-isolate for two weeks after returning from certain countries.

The Health Ministry says foreigners are not allowed to come to Lithuania from Sweden, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Portugal. Those coming from Belgium and the Republic of Ireland need to self-isolate for 14 days.

Due to a large number of coronavirus cases in Sweden, those arriving in Lithuania from this country will have to self-isolate for two weeks, even if a person travelled to take a ferry in Sweden via Norway or Denmark.

The Foreign Ministry underlines that the morbidity situation might change very quickly and can lead to the need to reintroduced necessary restrictions both abroad and in Lithuania.

"Lithuanian citizens planning foreign trips, especially outside Europe, are urged to responsibly consider possible travel disruptions and get acquainted with the existing requirement for self-isolation upon arrival etc. in foreign countries," the ministry warned.